top of page
Search

Meet Rylee Grace

Updated: Oct 23, 2018


I'm taking a drama course right now, and we were recently asked to give a speech on our passions. I kept thinking to myself, well I don't necessarily have a specific talent or hobby that would be natural to talk about.


You see, growing up I was never the kid who stuck to one thing and was known for it. I played competitive soccer for about 5 years, and then switched my focus to volleyball in high school. At the age of four, I began taking ballet, which eventually evolved into jazz, ballet and hip hop classes. At one point, I even did a stint at an Irish dancing studio - which was pretty cool but also a bit random. And to top it off, I was also that horse girl, who had her mom drive her into the county once a week for horse back riding lessons.


You’re probably thinking, ok Rylee, you’re all over the map here. But thinking back to my childhood has made me realize that it’s not a lack of a passion that I have, but actually a passion for trying new things. You see I never really cared for being the best at something, as much as I just wanted to try everything. Because you never know what you’ll end up liking until you try it!


To put this into perspective, I registered for my schools chess club (even though I didn’t know and still don’t know how to play) or the weeklong cheerleading camp I signed up for (probably because I’d watched bring it on one too many times), or the time I was on my school’s badminton team (and lost every game I ever played in). It's said that trying new things leads to added creativity, mindfulness & joy, making it a pretty important thing. So I think the best thing you can do for yourself while at university - or really at any point of your life - is to try new things... Personally, I don't want to be the one asking myself "what if...?" 50 years from now.



955 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page